Hibernation’s Over

suburban garden zone 4

What started-out as a little shrub pruning, became total spring garden clean-out yesterday. I blame it entirely on the gorgeous, sunny, 60 degree weather.

Image

I discovered signs of life in my delphiniums, chrysanthemums, vinca vines, Canterbury bells, “blue spruce” sedum, chives, columbine, daffodils, and hyacinths. 

We dragged the rose trees out of the garage, watered them, and noticed small buds appearing. These guys need bigger pots or a spot in the ground this year…

Image

I also started the process of planting the last of my indoor seeds of the season. I nicked and soaked the bush-type and climbing sweet peas, morning glories, and cup and saucer vines. In addition to the flowering vines, I plan to direct sow scarlet emperor beans, purple pole beans, and snap peas. I found the idea of flowering vines so tempting when I was choosing seeds this winter that I choose many more than I have…

View original post 67 more words

Leave a Reply

