Planting Potatoes | In The Garden

Barefoot Homesteader

Now, I know potatoes are more of a cold season crop but being a newbie I started too late and decided, ‘oh well I’m going to try’.  So I planted my potatoes on March 11th and crossed my fingers.  I was starring to get impatient and was about to dig one up to check on it when a fellow gardener told me to just leave them alone.  Best advice ever, the next day I saw sprouts emerging through the soil!  Being the first plant I ever sowed in the ground from seed I was like a kid full of excitement!  As more days go by I continue to spot more sprouts and become a little less nervous about my future harvest each time.

So it’s not too late, let’s grow potatoes!

BLOG1

I decided to plant mine in a raised bed.  There are several different techniques for potatoes so I recommend…

View original post 213 more words

Leave a Reply

