Plants You Should Know: Flowering Quince

thesmallstead

I like to scrape through online classifieds as often as I can remember. Sometimes they can yield treasures, this shrub was one. I replied to a post about a bunch of free landscaping plants available to who ever wanted to come dig them up. Most were evergreen and other such less interesting landscaping plants, but one caught my eye.  Flowering Quince or Chaenomeles japonica. I knew the name Quince having read about the tree previously. I immediately emailed the person and eventually ended up in her front yard digging into the frozen ground to free the waist high shrub. It is now planted in a corner of our front yard and recently began to bloom.

My first blooms.

The big brother Quince is a small tree in the same family as Pears and Apple and produces large yellow-gold fruit. It is old fruit, dating back as far if not…

View original post 140 more words

Leave a Reply

