Mother’s Day Garden

Adventures with the Liston Family

This year for Mother’s Day I wanted a square foot garden!  I have been “pinning” garden posts under a board called “For the Garden I do not Have” for over a year now and it was time to change that!  I would love to teach my children the process of growing food so that they will love fresh herbs, fruits and vegetables.  One small problem – I am not known for my green thumb!  But it can’t hurt to try!!

My husband went and got all of the pieces to build the frame and we went to the farmer’s market to pick up the organic soil and plants – we decided to start with plants instead of seeds for all but two of the squares.  

Image

In those we planted snow peas and carrots.  And GUESS WHAT!!!  The peas have SPROUTED!!!  I am so excited and SURPRISED at how fast they…

View original post 6 more words

One response to “Mother’s Day Garden

  1. In less than a month it has already grown ten-fold and we have had strawberries, jalepeno peppers, basil, cilantro and chives. We should be getting tomatoes, snow peas and squash very soon. The carrots have sprouted but don’t look as hardy as everything else so I’m not sure they will grow! I love it!!!

Leave a Reply

