garden, june 3 part II – tire pots

womanlygrowl

I’d be remiss if I failed to mention the tires that we spray-painted to use as flower pots.

tire pots

This idea came about because there is always the early-spring space struggle between the kiddo and I. She wants to plant flowers; I want to plant food. And there is never enough space for both of us to do all that we want to do. I had seen this idea on Pinterest, and since we had several old tires lying around, I thought it would be a fun project. But since I’m not sure if eating food grown in old rubber that is potentially leaching metal and contaminants (not to mention the paint), I was happy to give them over to flowers. They’ll also add a nice pop of color to the front yard.

A friend of mine is going to give me some seeds for giant sunflowers, and we’re going to…

View original post 35 more words

Leave a Reply

