The Reluctant Gardener Confesses: Why I Love Weeding

Kit Dunsmore's Blog

I’ve shared my reluctance to garden as a child and my struggles to believe that things I plant will actually grow. But today I confess something that just adds to the mountain of existing evidence that I am nuts: I love weeding.

As someone who hates to clean my house, it seems weird that my favorite yard activity is actually a form of de-cluttering. I’m still trying to figure out why this is. But I think I understand why, compared to all the other things that need to be done in the yard, my first choice is to weed.beforeAfterWeeds

Most gardening activities require waiting. Plant seeds and wait. Water, wait. Fertilize. Wait. Boring! I like results that are obvious and immediate, and weeding fits the bill.

So does spring yard clean up. When I’m not pulling up weeds, I’m cutting away last year’s perennials or removing dead limbs from…

View original post 348 more words

Leave a Reply

